IRE Board vote on Finance Committee members September 28, 2022

The board voted 12-0 via email to approve the members of the new Finance Committee.

On Sept. 27, 2022, Treasurer Brian M. Rosenthal sent an email to the board noting the board had approved at its meeting in August a new IRE Finance Committee (combining the revenue and endowment committees), whose purpose is to work on fundraising, oversee revenues and expenses, monitor the organization's endowment funds and advise the board on the organization's investments.

As stated in the <u>revised IRE Code of Bylaws</u>, the newly created Finance Committee is chaired by the IRE treasurer and includes six other members of IRE including one member of the board of directors. That director and two of the other committee members are nominated by the board president. The other three are nominated by the treasurer. All are nominated after the annual elections. All must be approved by the full IRE board. The committee members serve two-year terms.

In addition to Rosenthal as chair, the committee members nominated are:

Tristan Ahtone, editor at Grist, former Endowment Committee member (nominated by president)

Gina Chua, Semafor, longtime IRE member (nominated by treasurer) **Mark Greenblatt,** Scripps Washington Bureau, current IRE Board Member (board

member appointee, nominated by president)

Myrta Pulliam, IRE co-founder and former Board Member (nominated by treasurer)

Jodi Upton, Syracuse University, former IRE Treasurer (nominated by president)

Lee Zurik, WVUE/Gray Television, former IRE Vice President (nominated by treasurer)"

Rosenthal then made a motion to approve the committee members. It was seconded by Lam Thuy Vo. Board members Vo, Rosenthal, Kate Howard, Jodie Fleischer, Josh Hinkle, Mark Walker, Mark Greenblatt, Cindy Galli, Aaron Kessler, Neena Satija, Darla Cameron and Barbara Rodriguez responded with a yes vote on Sept. 27-28. The motion passed with a 12-0 vote.